Les Menhirs de Monteneuf

A site classified as of outstanding interest

You are here:

In the Neolithic period, the early clearances led to the development of the moorland. Megalithic structures like the Monteneuf standing stones are evidence of this history. From the earliest farmers up to the mid twentieth century, agricultural practices maintained the rich ecology of the moorland. They were then abandoned, and are now conserved by an environmentally friendly management scheme.

Since 2013, the Monteneuf standing stones have been in the heart of the Regional Nature Reserve of Les Landes de Monteneuf, now classified as an area of outstanding interest (Espace Remarquable de Bretagne). The nature reserve bears the impression of the History of Man; it is a place that gives an outstanding educational experience where nature and culture meet.

logo-espace-remarquable-bretagne-region.png

Moorland, rocks, woods, ponds and meadows make up the mosaic of landscapes in the Monteneuf moors. Paradoxically the poor soil is what has created of this rich environment with its outcrops of red shale. The Moorland gives shelter to key species that are often protected, such as carnivorous plants, nocturnal birds, bats, amphibians, and butterflies. In order to protect this outstanding biodiversity, restoration and maintenance work is carried out throughout the year.

The aim of the nature reserve is to protect and promote the natural and cultural heritage. It is also a tourist attraction where footpaths and activities help the public discover this wealth and get in touch with our environment.

Discovering the reserve

The Association Les Landes is responsible for of the management of the reserve. It offers guided tours, nature walks, discovery trails and educational workshops.

Footpaths also let you freely discover this rare and fragile natural area. Treat it with respect!

Les Menhirs de Monteneuf

Un site classé Espace Remarquable de Bretagne

Vous êtes ici :

Au Néolithique, les premiers défrichements de l'Homme ont permis aux landes de se développer. Des constructions mégalithiques comme les Menhirs de Monteneuf témoignent de cette histoire. Des premiers agriculteurs jusqu'au milieu du XXème siècle, les pratiques agricoles ont maintenu la richesse écologique des landes. Ensuite délaissées, elles sont aujourd’hui préservées par une gestion environnementale.

Les Menhirs de Monteneuf se situent depuis 2013 au cœur de la Réserve Naturelle Régionale Les Landes de Monteneuf, appelé Espace Remarquable de Bretagne. Le territoire de la réserve naturelle est empreint de l'Histoire de l'Homme ; c'est un lieu d'interprétation remarquable où nature rime avec culture.

logo-espace-remarquable-bretagne-region.png

Landes, rochers, bois, étangs et prairies forment la mosaïque de paysages des landes de Monteneuf. Paradoxalement, la pauvreté des sols est à l'origine de la richesse de ces milieux où le schiste pourpre affleure. Les Landes abritent des espèces emblématiques, souvent protégées, comme des plantes carnivores, des oiseaux nocturnes, des chauves-souris, des amphibiens, des papillons... Afin de conserver cette biodiversité remarquable, des travaux de restauration et d'entretien sont réalisés tout au long de l’année.

La réserve naturelle a pour vocation de protéger et mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel. C'est aussi un lieu d'accueil du public où des sentiers et des animations permettent de découvrir ces richesses et ainsi de créer du lien avec notre environnement.

Découverte de la réserve

L'association Les Landes en charge de la gestion de la réserve. Elle propose des visites guidées, balades naturalistes, sentiers de découverte et ateliers pédagogiques.

Des chemins de randonnée permettent également de découvrir librement cet espace naturel rare et fragile, respectons-le !